You Can Tell Mama Anything

I recently saw a friend who has a boy who is 13 years old. She told me that her son is now turing into a teenager with wild mood swings. One minute he wants to be held like a baby next moment he wants nothing to do with her. She was prepared for this behavior but it was still a shock because her son was always so upbeat and even keeled. After the conversation what impressed me was the relationship of openness that she is trying to maintain with her son. Her main goal is to make her son feel welcome and comfortable about what he is feeling during this emotional and hormonal turmoil.

You are probably thinking, “Ok slow down Ale is only a baby!”. Yes, but I know that this kind of relationship starts now. He is already growing up so fast. I just can’t believe it. If I could, I would press pause for a while just so I can enjoy this special stage in his life. Thus, I take photos and videos all the time, hold him close, and even now I tell him, “Ale, mama loves you, you can tell mama anything”. One day I hope it will seep in and click.

20130327-145320.jpg

