Daily Prompt: Wall to Wall House of Mirrors

My family lives in a New York City apartment. We are lucky as we have huge windows in our living room so we are not lacking light. I can see plenty of sky and there is a tree in our window. Its lovely but I want more windows, more light. The solution to my need would be to move out of NY- that is not an option- or brake down a few walls but I don’t think my building would support such a structural change. I would consider demolishing the building next to me but that would leave many people homeless in response to my selfish needs.

In turn, my home has become the house of mirrors.

20130426-103138.jpg

We have about thirteen mirrors in our apartment. I want a window in the kitchen, in the bathroom, another in my bedroom. Mirrors! Mirrors! Mirrors! I am not a vein person. I don’t like to particularly see myself in the mirror. Each mirror is placed strategically so they are not to be used to admire oneself. They are decorative and functional. Each room appears to expand and become brighter as the natural light reflects off them.

In the end, we have a fabulous little collection of mirrors bought around the US and Europe. One day I will have the home of my dreams. Until then, I have my mirrors.

Today’s Daily Prompt
What do you display on the walls of your home — photos, posters, artwork, nothing? How do you choose what to display? What mood are you trying to create?

7 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Wall to Wall House of Mirrors

  1. I like mirrors too.they help bring in light and make a room seem larger. You mirrors are also very interesting.

  2. Pingback: All in all you’re just another pic on the wall | Stuphblog

  3. Pingback: Another Thing On The Wall, Part II – Daily Prompt | Edward Hotspur

  4. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Wall to Wall | life n me!

Comments are closed.