Daily Prompt: Cringe Worthy

In the past when thinking about things that make me squirm I would say ROACHES! Ugghh! Just the thought would make me shudder. However, now that I’m a mom the roaches have fallen to the very bottom of my list. What makes me squirm is watching my little guy do things while I attempt to let him be independent. 
 
I want my son to play, run, walk, jump and have fun but while he does these things I only imagine the dangers around him. Ale is only 18 months and he does not yet know his limitations. At the same time he must explore his world to discover what they are. My role as his mom is to guide him and literally catch him when he falls. That is the hardest part, watching him fall. So around our, home, in the street, or at the playground I let go if his hand and he’s off in a flash. I’ll watch him climb or explore and all the while I attempt to stand back (just far away enough so that I can intervene) and I squirm. I only stop when he accomplishes his goal unscathed. Ahhhh, only then I I can breath again. 
 
 Today’s Prompt:
Do you feel uncomfortable when you see someone else being embarrassed? What’s most likely to make you squirm?
 
5 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Cringe Worthy

  1. Pingback: Ain’t That A Shame – Daily Prompt | Edward Hotspur

  2. I had to do the same thing with my son, and I know how hard it is. I even had people give me dirty looks when I didn’t rush over the second he fell down. I knew he was okay and would bounce up and continue running. It’s part of growing up and as Moms we know what’s best for our kids. Great post!

  3. I can relate! But I think you’re doing the right thing. Sometimes, we moms just have to squirm a little while we watch our kids fall and fail.

Comments are closed.