Daily Prompt: The Little Things/ The Girl With A Star

20130503-171019.jpg

This morning when I read the email of today’s daily prompt :

Describe a little thing — one of the things you love that define you worlds but is often overlooked.

I immediately thought that that this was intriguing topic but what could I possibly write about? Later in the morning I went into my bedroom and I passed my dresser. On it is a little pewter figurine about two inches tall of a little girl holding a star that my grandmother gave me when I was about six years old. This is such a small item that I often forget that its there and I’m sure my husband does not even know it exists. Unfortunately, I don’t remember what the occasion was or the reason why she gave it to me. That does not matter. What matters is that this figurine has been one of the little things that has managed to stay with me physically and emotionally through the years.

As a little girl I was fascinated by the girl with a star. I loved her flowing dress and how the artist was able to capture each ruffle. I thought of how she might of caught the star and how proud she must be to have caught it. In many ways I later internalized this to be a representation of myself. I was that little girl with a star. I guess I consider myself lucky in the sense that I have so far gotten through life unscathed. I am married, have my little boy, home, car and a good job. Most importantly I am happy. These are the things I’m sure my grandmother desired for me when she gave it to me. This is what every grandparent or parent wants for their children; to be happy and secure.

My grandmother and I share the same name- Edith. We also share the same profession- Nursing. This figurine of the girl with a star was in my pocket the day I took the exam for my RN license and it steadied me through the medication calculation and pharmacology questions. This little figurine of the girl with a star has been with me across continents. It has been on various bedside tables or dressers no matter where in the world I was. This is my link to my grandmother, who through this figurine, is always watching over me and my family.

Daily Prompt:

Describe a little thing — one of the things you love that define you worlds but is often overlooked.
http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/05/03/daily-prompt-little-things/

4 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: The Little Things/ The Girl With A Star

  1. Pingback: Aunt Sadie’s Locket (Short story) | The Jittery Goat

  2. Pingback: Small But Meaningful | Edward Hotspur

  3. Pingback: The Little Things – Daily Prompt | Lyrical Anarchy

  4. Pingback: Daily Prompt: The Little Things | On My Front Porch

Comments are closed.