Daily Prompt: The Glass / Parenting Paradox

Daily Prompt: The Glass
Is the glass half-full, or half-empty?
 
Since becoming a mom I am suddenly obsessed with time. Meaning my lifetime and my time with my son. Having a baby made me clearly see that I have a finite time on earth. I am astonished at how quickly he is growing and how fast the time is passing.  In this respect I am sadly seeing the glass as almost empty.
 
One the other hand I am enjoying each moment with my little boy. I am looking forward to each day, each milestone. I am even anxious to know what kind of man he will become.  So in this regard the glass is way more than half-full- its spilling over the brim!
 
I never realized that parenting will be filled with so many paradoxes. 
 
What I really need to do is forget about the glass being half full or half empty. I need to be more like my husband and my son and live in the moment and ENJOY that sweet glass of wine  in my hand! Cheers!
4 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: The Glass / Parenting Paradox

  1. My husband forgets the glass too! He is much more relaxed about time. I really REALLY want to live in the moment! I struggle so much with it, though. I think because I am responsible for so much and I tend to think a few steps ahead so that I am “on top of things”. My husband is really only responsible for things while he’s at work. Kwim? So, at home, he is able to relax. There must be a way to change this for me… Thanks for getting me thinking. 🙂

    • It’s so hard for me. I have always been a future thinker. I’m never in the moment I’m thinking of 5 years from now. It makes me a great planner for big things. We have to try to be in the moment!!

  2. Pingback: The Glass Is Half Empty | The Sexy Cynic

Comments are closed.