Daily Prompt: Success!

Image
Yesterday Ale and I went to see his pediatrician for his 18 month check up. For the first time at the pediatrician’s office I had nothing to ask and no concerns to mention. I knew Ale was on target developmentally, healthy, and happy. Ale eats broccoli, scribbles on paper, says a few words, and sleeps through the night. I felt like I finally succeeded as a new parent!
I was always a great parent but I never gave myself credit for it. I fell into the new mommy trap of reading on line (The joys of Crying it Out), listening to other moms tell me what I was doing wrong (What! Your son does not eat a peanut butter sandwich by himself at 8 months! My kid eats everything!), and taking into consideration what strangers said to me (You should do xyz, and xyz, and don’t forget xyz….). What was wrong with this was that I was not listening to myself or my baby.
Sleep was a huge issue. Ale was always easy to put to sleep. The problem was that he would wake up up to six times a night on the worse nights. This occurred until he was over a year. At night I hated him, my husband and myself. I would wake up exhausted and enraged. We tried all the methods. It disturbed me to see Ale cry, vomit and poop on himself when we did not come to console him. Then one night at about 13 months, he climbed out of his crib, and walked to the bathroom and banged on the door looking for us. That was when I knew we had to make a change. This is when we fully embraced co-sleeping. Since then he has slept through the night. My husband and I also get to sleep more which makes me a happy mama. It was a win win. I still get odd looks, and reprimands from people but you know what: I. DON’T. CARE! Since I stopped caring what others think of my parenting style I knew that I excelled at parenting.
The last few days I have been going through various mommy blogs and the topic of mommy bullying has come up a lot. So here is my two cents: STOP! We are all in this crazy chaos of mamahood together. There is no book, website, friend or stranger who can tell you what to do. There is no one size fits all parenting style. Just support and encourage the mamas that you know. Do not belittle them.
Daily Prompt: Success!
Tell us about a time where everything you’d hoped would happen actually did.
14 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Success!

  1. I have wanted to write about this for so long. Thank you for writing this. Well said, Mama! I agree that we need to support and encourage one another and stop judging. We don’t need others making us feel bad about our choices in parenting. It’s a hard enough job.

  2. Everyone has a slightly different style and set of priorities when it comes to raising kids. Some mammas forget that what works for them may not always work for someone else. Also those who criticized or “advised” should think about how they feel when they are criticized by strangers, or relatives who disagree with them approach to sleep or feeding routines. Well said mama, lets be nice to each other. On the end of the day we all try to do what’s best for us and our babies.
    Ps. Yours boy, what a cute, little cupcake. Keep going with great job mama.

  3. Pingback: Measure of Success | Daily Prompt: Success! | Kaleidoscopic World in Words

  4. I’m glad things are going so well with Ale and that you are feeling confident as a mama! It takes a while to get there, I think, because there are just so many things we have to try to “get right” especially in that first year! Even with my third child, I was worried about different things at the beginning. 😉

  5. Pingback: No Good Thing Ever Dies | The Jittery Goat

  6. Pingback: Daily Prompt: PowerShort-Success | Bastet and Sekhmet

  7. Pingback: Success! My Name in Lights | KnowledgeKnut

  8. Every mother has to do what works for her child, and nobody knows your child better than you. Sounds like you found the solution that is right for everyone in your family. Rock on!

  9. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Success! | life n me!

Comments are closed.