Forget the Pill- Give Me Air and Kisses

A little late but here is June 4th’s Daily Prompt:

If you could get all the nutrition you needed in a day with a pill — no worrying about what to eat, no food preparation — would you do it?

 

I love to eat! I love to try new foods. I grew up in New York City and some of my favorite childhood memories revolve around food. Cooking at home with my dad, going to eat lunch at my friend’s home who was Japanese, Puerto Rican, Greek, or Jamaican.

When I was pregnant one of the top things on my baby registry list was the Beaba baby food maker. I could not wait to to whip up yummy nutritious purees, then move on to fun finger foods and I envisioned fun days of cooking and baking with my son. I even looked up local cooking classes for toddlers.

Oh, what a naive mom-to-be I was.

Next to sleeping habits- feeding my sweet little Ale has been a nightmare.

My first night at home from the hospital– Ale screaming, no wet diaper, no poop, lips were dry. At midnight I franticly sent my husband out to get formula. Thank goodness we live close to a 24hr pharmacy. Then came the struggle that I overcame with breastfeeding. When I could introduce solid foods I was super excited. Then I realized Ale had his own opinions about food. He essentially is either too busy to eat or he must exercise his own will. At nine months he was eating my homemade purees, and yoghurt with gusto. Then one day he discovered that he could pick up food with his fingers and it all went downhill from there. For almost two months he refused to eat anything that required a spoon.

Now he is a toddler. He says no! Mine! and is quick to push away the dinner that I lovingly made. I even have to chase after him to eat ice cream and banana bread! Right now the only food he will voluntarily eat are Cheddar Bunnies. So if my my long skinny baby who is 19 months and only weighs about 23lbs could choose, would most likely skip the daily pill concept. The pill would either be too red, too blue, or would not pass the finger poke test. Ale would much prefer to live off of air and mama’s kisses.

That idealized Michelin roll baby who eats everything with a smile is not my son.

Michelin Man

Michelin Man (Photo credit: SouthEastern Star ★)

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/06/04/daily-prompt-pills/

6 thoughts on “Forget the Pill- Give Me Air and Kisses

  1. I’ve been through the same struggles – rough start with breastfeeding and fussy toddler. It can be quite disheartening. Does he eat more if he feeds himself? My 16 month old will let me feed her more if I give her a spoon and let her play with the food. I’m sure those cheddar bunnies will keep Ale going until you find the next thing he’s happy to eat!

  2. We had such a smooth start with food. I fed my son with baby led weaning and he loved everything I gave him until about 18 months. He’s now 2 and a half and down to only a handful of foods. i’m hoping he’ll become more adventurous when he’s a little older.. cheddar bunnies are big in our house, too.

  3. Samuel has always enjoyed breastfeeding over any food I might offer him. 🙄 He is pretty picky but I have faith that will change eventually because my older two are GREAT eaters now and they were as picky as Sam is now! 😀 xoxo

Comments are closed.