Preparing For Flight

English: Wedding rings Português: Anéis de Noi...

English: Wedding rings Português: Anéis de Noivado / Casamento (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Yesterday I went to the wedding of one of my close friends. It was a beautiful intimate wedding of only 50 people. My friend- the bride- was absolutely stunning and her new husband sweet and gracious.

 

During the event I could not help but to think of their mothers. This was a crowning day. Both the bride and groom found true love after many years of searching. The mothers were glowing and proud women. In my new mother state I tried to imagine what they did later that night while the wedding party was still out drinking and dancing. What they felt when they went home to their apartments and closed the door definitively without their child.

 

Motherhood is a constant state of preparing your child for flight. To make sure they are supported and have the right tools to successfully leave you. In the case of marriage you hope that your child is capable of taking on and caring for a spouse and later children. Ultimately, you hope that their spouse will reciprocate these things as well.

 

After several champaign toasts and emotional speeches from friends and family I missed my little boy dreadfully. My job as a new mom took on greater importance. I must prepare Ale to be the love of the life of another person. To teach him kindness, respect, patience, and how to make a killer meal (they key to anyone’s heart is through the stomach). He will learn this by my example and by my guidance through the events that effect his life.

 

I have many years to do this starting now of course. When the time comes I will happily give him away- with a knot in my throat to his beloved.

 

4 thoughts on “Preparing For Flight

  1. So sweet. It’s a long time from now, but I’m afraid it WILL come faster than any of us are okay with!! 😉

  2. To think of how much you miss your kids during a wedding and how after their wedding there is no reunion afterward! It is an exciting time to prepare for though and you have a great point that the preparation starts now 🙂

Comments are closed.