Daily Prompt: Sorry, I’m Busy

20130915-224448.jpg

On my days off from work I try my best to devote 100% of my free time to Ale. There are, however, days when I have to carve out time to make phone calls, pay bills, clean the apartment, and organize my life. If possible I try to do most of this during nap time. This is a one to two hour window of time to rush and get things done. If I’m super busy it will spill into the rest of the day.

This is when the working mom guilt sets in:

Guilt for doing chores and having Ale on my leg vying for my attention while I tell him to stop- Mama is washing the dishes. Guilt for using the iPad as a babysitter. Guilt for talking on the phone and making excuses for the sound of Ale playing in the background. Feeling guilty on the rare days I say – Forget it! The Cheerios can stay in the rug another day and I try to do something for myself. At the end of the day I feel like I failed miserably in my role of super mom.

These scenarios happen to all moms but I think there is more pressure on the working mom. As a working mom I have to work more than 40 hrs a week then go home and take care of my home and son as if I was a stay at home mom. This is often places way too much on my plate. In the end, it’s Ale who feels the brunt of it. He is the one who sometimes gets placed on the back burner. I greatly dislike this.

Time is so precious. Each day Ale surprises me with something new in his growth and development. I just wish there was a bit more support (family, friends, city, state and federal government) for working moms/dads so the “Sorry, I’m busy” phase is said to our children less often. This way we can enjoy each moment a bit more and be more present when we are at home.

–––––––––––––
Tell us about a time when you should have helped someone… but didn’t.
http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/09/15/daily-prompt-denial/

4 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Sorry, I’m Busy

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Sorry I’m Busy | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  2. I don’t have all the right answers for the guilt but when I do dishes, I get crayons out and let my girls color in books on the floor and we sing songs. My oldest (4 now but started around 3) likes to help with dishes so we make it w bonding time.

    I remember the struggle of getting things done as a working mom. On my days off, I didn’t want to even think about chores. It was all about her. Staying home now? It’s still the same. I never want to pick some menial household task over the kids. I found a decent balance now. I can work when they are sleeping in the morning and evening. And then my oldest is at school when my youngests are napping so I have a small window there too.

    Just remember, you are doing an awesome job!

    • Thank you!! 😊 I’m so happy you found a balance. That is so important. I’m going to use your idea of getting out crayons and paper while I’m in the kitchen. My little boy wants to be with me and I want to cut back on the iPad use. It’s great to hear that it gets better!!!

Comments are closed.