The Push

20131212-075225.jpg

On Monday Ale slept later than usual. I had to wake him to get ready to go to daycare. As we were getting ready I reminded him of where we were going and who he was going to see, “Ale, we are going to daycare. Today is music class. Your friends Max and Emily are waiting to see you.”. He responded with a big round “No!”. The no’s continued through out the morning rush.

We arrive at the daycare. Sure enough Ale’s friends Max and Emily were there at the door to greet their little buddy. I kiss Ale who had started crying and point to his friends. Ale then goes over to Max and pushes him. I was mortified and felt so sorry for Max who took the push with surprise.

This was the first time I had ever seen Ale do such a thing. Everyone had always commented on Ale’s sweet and mild nature. I had my head in the new mommy sand. I thought that we were for some reason immune to this behavior.

Ale is a toddler and is still pretty much pre-verbal. He wants to express himself more. Throughout the morning he was telling me that he wanted to be with me. When he saw Max he pushed him as if to get rid of him so he could stay with me.

It’s hard to be a working mom. The guilt I left with was enormous. I know that daycare is the best solution for my family. When I picked him up later that day he was happy, dancing, and gave kisses and high fives to all of his friends.

Ale is a toddler. New challenges are ahead for all of us. Discipline is rising to the top of the list.

Image from:
http://www.mercatornet.com/family_edge/view/10436

8 thoughts on “The Push

  1. It’s a shame is rough start left you feeling guilty. However, he clearly enjoys his daycare and has some nice friends there. Hopefully, he and you can have the time you need with each other later in the day.

  2. I’d have to agree, I have experienced a lot of guilt being a working mom. It works for some of us, not for all of us – takes all kinds. It is definitely disheartening to see your preciouis wonder be a stinker to another kid. I experience that daily (ok, maybe hourly) with my twins. Good luck with your big boy. 🙂

    • Thanks! At the same time I think being a working mom does teach the children that women can have various roles and can provide for the family just as well as men. But women still in many ways are looked down upon. You defiantly must be a super busy woman with twins regardless if you work or not!!

      • Ha! Yes, sometimes I don’t know which end is up with working FT, twins and getting ready to jump back into college – teaching this time! As long as the night ends with snuggles, story time and full bellies I call it a success. (No matter how high the laundry pile is.) I really enjoy your blog.

      • Thanks! you made my day!! OMG! You are going back to college for teaching as well! And you write regularly in blog! You are an inspiration. I keep saying I’ll go for my masters in Nursing but keep putting excuses. I agree snuggles, story time and a full belly is much more than success. It’s perfection!

  3. You’re a mom. And a good one. Don’t ever let anyone tell you otherwise. I give you so much credit! I only work 16-20 hrs a week, and have family to watch my daughter. I thank my lucky stars every day for that winning lotto ticket. You’re strong, and he knows it. He can sense it, and it’s no wonder he wants to be with you. You’re safe. 🙂

Comments are closed.