Perfection is Bogus

20140121-162059.jpg

What! I’m not perfect? I’m not the perfect mama, wife, mommy blogger, or RN? This is news to me!

Honestly, the idea of perfection is bogus. If I thought I was the perfect anything I would stop learning, perfecting, and evolving in my roles at home and at work. I can strive to be the best in all that I do but I will never truly be perfect. There is always something new to master. I would also imagine that perfection is boring, static. You are at the top so there is no where else to go.

However, as much as I do enjoy Pinterest and the internet in general it does make me think that I’m lacking in my parenting and baking skills. I have to take it in stride. I have to make do with what I can do with my skills and limited time. One can only look at the pretty pictures and dream.

In response to today’s BlogHer’s NaBloPoMo prompt
Tuesday, January 21, 2014
Do you feel pressure to be perfect? How much of it is tied to what you see online?

Top Mommy Blogs - Mom Blog Directory

4 thoughts on “Perfection is Bogus

  1. I didn’t know you were an RN! I am too 🙂 Where do you work? My background is critical care (Tele/ICU/ER all in five years, the last two have been in GI/ASU). And I definitely feel the pressure to be the perfect mom. Control my temper, be patient, play with her more, spend less time with media and more time reading, etc. I know I’m not perfect though, and I think I need to accept that!

    • Yeah! Fellow nurse! Love it! Critical care is amazing. I’m in L&D in a busy unit also for five years. It’s crazy but I love it. I can’t imagine doing anything else. However, if I would go into another speciality it would be critical care. We put too much pressure on our selves as moms and I’m sure you do the same with nursing. There are so many amazing moms and nurses that we idolize. We have to work hard and just be ourselves.

Comments are closed.